8 Comments

Ask A Geek Anything, Volume 23

lionshart 042old salt

Good morning, and welcome to Ask a Geek Anything volume 23

The spot on the internet where, as old as we are, we won’t tell you to “get off our lawn”, nor will we sick the old security system above on you.  Periodically instead of having a couple of our staff answer a couple different questions, we pose one question to the entire staff… This is one of those times.

Dan Bridgwater asked us: Hey Geeks! I’ve loved Godzilla movies as long as I can remember and have vague memories of seeing my first Godzilla movie (Saturday night Creature Double Feature) at about age 5 or so. What is you oldest memory of SciFi/Fantasy on TV or the big screen?  And I’ve asked the entire staff to take a crack at answering it.

Our daring master of the printed word Declan Finn took first crack at it, with: My oldest memory of TV SF is the original Star Trek on in the late afternoon / early evening, ever weekday, with The Next Generation on at night (first-run episodes). And every holiday there seemed to be a Twilight Zone Marathon, with “It’s a Cook Book!” and “Time enough at last!” and other heart-rending final stingers. This, of course, did not include the cartoon Silver Hawks, on television. 

I remember the Twilight Zone episode he referenced, I believe it was called “To Serve Man”

The fine Amanda Fuesting weighed in with: My oldest memory of media sci-fi has to be re-runs of Star Trek. I was a much bigger reader than anything, and my parents weren’t geeks, so I didn’t get into media sci-fi until I was a teen.

The Beard that writes,Joseph Capdepon II sends:The oldest memory I have of anything SciFi/Fantasy related on television or the big screen would have to be Godzilla or The Thing from Another World, if you discount any episodes of Woody Woodpecker or the Looney Tunes. I can’t really be sure on which I saw first.

Now my fondest memory is of when I was in elementary school. I can’t remember exactly how old I was at the time, but I was sick and missed about a week of school.

I stayed with my Granny during that week during the day because my parents worked. I remember laying on her couch in the living room and watching the giant insect/monster movies of the 50’s that were anti-atomic weapon propaganda. Them! is the one that has stuck with me the most and is one that I still watch today. Beginning of the End is also one that I remember watching, where giant grasshoppers attack Chicago.

That memory sticks with me, because I can still remember the smell of my Granny’s house, and of the food she would cook me.

The Thing from Another World: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0044121/?ref_=nv_sr_4

Godzilla: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047034/?ref_=nv_sr_4

Them!: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0047573/?ref_=fn_al_tt_2

Beginning of the End: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0050177/

our irrepressible Connie Elliott comments: Watching Star Trek reruns while sitting in my dad’s lap.
 the Great Keith Glass sends: Oldest ? 1966. Conning my parents to let me stay up to see the first episode of “Star Trek”, aka the Incredible Salt Vampire, “because we were studying space in school, and the show is in space”.
Followed shortly thereafter by getting my first SF book, out of one of those Scholastic monthly sales flyers they used to hand out regularly in schools.  Cannot recall the title, but was about the kid of a family of asteroid miners, and a space critter that looked like a rock, but spun steely webs between asteroids….
Finally, my own earliest memory is probably watching Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, or 20,000 leagues under the sea… Though it may also have been Star Trek (OG)… In either case it was in the mid to late 60s, and I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t have been the Twilight Zone Shows or any of the similar series that came out, as my parents and grandmother thought those were not exactly appropriate for a 5 year old  (and they were right).  I do know that the very earliest memory I have is from TV… I was sitting on the living room floor of my Grandmother’s house, watching this big old console (pretty sure it was black and white)  There was a guy up to his thighs in what I thought was grass (I later learned it was a rice patty) with a mike in his hand.  In the background you could hear small arms fire, and that most identifiable sound (for someone that grew up in that era) of a Huey HU-1 taking off, and he was saying “this is Charles Karault, from somewhere in Vietnam.”
My parents where not exactly rich, so Movies were just not a thing growing up, although I went on my own to see Starwars. (there was only one, and no one understood the bit about “episode 7” or what-ever it was. I lived far enough out in the sticks that the Geeks that knew what was going on with that weren’t anywhere to be found)  I remember Space 1999, and UFO, The Project Blue Book files, The Outer Limits, and the Bond films (YES the Bond films were Science Fiction… Come on, Moonraker?) and I’m sure there were others that I’m spacing right now.  Primarily though I was a reader: Norton, Asimov, Heinlein, Clark, Pournelle,  Niven, Anderson… These guys and more where my constant companions along with the old Tom Swifts etc…(hey I was young, give me a break, if it was cheep, and Science fiction, or if it was in the town library, it had my eye tracks on it)

OK, that’s all we have for this week, remember, you can e-mail us questions at askageekanythingowg@gmail.com or contact us through Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/askageekanythingowg . We have all the old articles there and will update it every week with new ones, as well as take questions from posts. If you’re so inclined, we’d appreciate it if you could like and share the page, because we’re running really low on questions to answer!  If you don’t ask it, we can’t answer!Have a great weekend, and we’ll see you next week.

About morrigan508

A retired submarine sailor and former cop, author of the John Fisher Chronicles, as well as a contributing author of the Otherwhere Gazette.

8 comments on “Ask A Geek Anything, Volume 23

  1. I remember Forbidden Planet, in the theater.

    Like

  2. Oldest SF memory ties in very close with another old memory. I remember watching ST (on a black and white tv, I remember wondering what color the uniforms really were) in Minot ND in the afternoon and sitting that a few weeks later to see one of the Moon landings. I was 4 or 5 at the time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Growing up in Minot, ND, I used to watch old SF/F shows with my parents. Well, at the time they were ‘new’. Stuff like Space: 1999, and Logan’s Run, The Six Million Dollar Man and Wonder Woman, as well as old Star Trek reruns and the campy Hammer Studios horror flicks on Saturday afternoons on one of the broadcast stations, or later on USA. I didn’t get introduced to Godzilla, Mothra, Ultraman or ‘mutated insect’ movies until we finally got WTBS on cable around 1980 or so.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I feel ancient. Either it was Lost in Space 9/1965 or Twilite Zone rerun of Nightmare at 20000 ( yes, the first Rod Serling’s The Twilight Zone episode I ever saw and the second ) then the first broadcast to Star Trek. My Dad was a big science fiction reader so he insisted. Or do we count Superman?

    Like

  4. There is nothing wrong with your television set. Do not attempt to adjust the picture. We are controlling transmission. If we wish to make it louder, we will bring up the volume. If we wish to make it softer, we will tune it to a whisper. We will control the horizontal. We will control the vertical. We can roll the image, make it flutter. We can change the focus to a soft blur or sharpen it to crystal clarity. For the next hour, sit quietly and we will control all that you see and hear. We repeat: there is nothing wrong with your television set. You are about to participate in a great adventure. You are about to experience the awe and mystery which reaches from the inner mind to – The Outer Limits.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ‘Alas, Babylon’ was telecast when I was in second grade, so maybe 1960-61. Scared me BAD, because we were doing ‘duck and cover’ exercises at school around that time.
    ‘Lost in Space’, with “Danger, Will Robinson!” came out around 1965. That was the first show I remember being permitted to follow. Like others have said, we had to sneak to see Twilight Zone episodes.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I saw at least some Lost in Space episodes during the 60’s, it was shown maybe two, three years later in Finland. Don’t remember much of them though. TOS was shown in the early 70’s, and that I watched more. I wasn’t all that fond of either, my first exposure was books and the small screen could in no way compete with I could see with my imagination. Big screen fared better, I don’t remember any real scifi, but some of the fantasy/mythology movies were almost spectacular enough. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

