20 Comments

Eat This While you Read That: Toni Weisskopf

Now, those of you who know Toni Weisskopf are wondering why she was included in this series. She is not commonly known as an author. Because I could, that’s why. As a reader, Baen Publishing has been pretty important to my book habit for 15 years and going strong. I think that Toni, as the Head Honcho over there, should absolutely be included in this. That, and I like her, she’s a nice lady, and one I look up to with a lot of respect. So I asked her for a recipe. And she gave me one.

Right there, I looked at it, and said ‘Oh, Toni, no…’

Just looking at it went right to my hips. I knew that with only two of us in the house, and me trying to lose weight… well, I figured there was a book, a treadmill, and some walking in my future to burn this off. But then I had another idea… More on that after the recipe.

Christmas Buckeyes

Baen Buckeyes

Baen Books, a dragon, and candy!

Makes 180 balls, give or take.

Insides:

  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 pound butter, softened
  • 2 pounds creamy pb—use Skippy
  • 3 pounds powdered sugar

Mix above ingredients thoroughly until mixture is uniform.  Can use a heavy duty mixer, but dough will be very stiff, so probably will need to end with hands. It will take a while. Roll into small balls, about cocktail meatball size, and place on wax or parchment paper to await dipping.

Buckeye filling

Very stiff filling. I didn’t do much hand-work to it, trying to preserve the ‘fluffy’ texture.

Usually at this point there’s a break in the action, and I recommend a book to you for reading while you wait on a timer to go off. That’s not going to happen this time, you’ll have your hands full all the way through this recipe. But wait! There is an option, Baen is not just for paper and e-books. There are some award-winning audiobooks available from them. Perfect for whiling away time during the rolling of many, many, many little peanut butter balls. 

Peanut butter balls

A small army of peanut butter balls. Which would be tasty at this stage. But the chocolate completes them.

Dip in:

12 oz. Nestles semi-sweet chocolate chips + 1/2 bar paraffin (yes, this is just wax—you’ll find it in stores that have canning supplies or larger grocery stores)

* or *

a couple of packages of chocolate bark (option I’ve used in the past few years and nobody seems to object; found in baking section of store)

Over a double boiler, melt chocolate. (My double boiler is a regular pot with a metal mixing bowl plopped over it.) Once water is boiling, lower heat so a gentle steam is maintained so chocolate stays melted while you are dipping.

Buckeyes

They do resemble the nuts of the Horse Chestnut tree. Only more edible.

Taking a wooden toothpick (plastic ones okay, but buckeyes slip off more easily on them), inserted about 1/3 to 1/2 way into the ball, dip into chocolate and swirl around, coating most of the ball, but leaving the top open. (Hence “buckeye”: they look like chestnuts called “buckeyes.” Ohio is the “Buckeye” State, btw, which is why Ohio State’s football team is nicknamed “Buckeyes.” Who says cookbooks aren’t educational?) Place on waxed cookie sheet. Let sit until chocolate is set. Store in tightly covered container. Will last weeks. If you don’t eat them. Can be frozen.

buckeyes-9

Cedar here again. The recipe came out delightfully, as I expected it to. I cut the recipe in half, and made 75 buckeyes. The First Reader sampled one, declared that they taste like buckeyes, to my relief since I’d never made them before. I tasted one, liked it a lot, and then we packed the rest of them up. Most of them went with me to classes on a Monday (my long day). College students, as I anticipated, love your recipe, Toni! Lots of compliments, and wonderings of ‘will Cedar bring snacks again?’ which was funny. No, probably not. But it was a great way to make sure they didn’t go to waist. Mine, that is. 

Maybe I should make up little cards with the link to the Baen Free Library on them to give out with the snacks… food and free books. Hook ’em in good! For more book recommendations and recipes, check out the Eat This While You Read That! index page. 

buckeyes

A plateful of bon-bons (well, sort of) and books to read. Heaven!

About Cedar Sanderson

Writer, mother, reader, gardener, cook… artist.

20 comments on “Eat This While you Read That: Toni Weisskopf

  1. Great. Toni Wiesskopf and you now know how to make T.L. Knighton kryptonite!

    I first had buckeyes a few years ago when a female friend gave us some for Christmas. I promptly offered to bear her children.

    No, I wasn’t joking. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like they came out just like they should–and I love the free buckeyes/Free Library idea. That really would be like pushing crack.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cedar the Dealer, getting kids hooked on buckeyes and books. Has a nice ring to it.

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on Writing and other stuff and commented:
    Hmm. I am going to have to try this out.

    Like

  5. Wow. I’m not usually into peanut butter candy things, but these look amazing!

    Like

  6. Cedar, I mentioned this project to your grandma yesterday, and the ones she remembers making when I was young were basically Toni’s recipe (with the powdered sugar) only not dipped in chocolate (she probably couldn’t afford it). I know I remember her making some with powdered milk in them, but she doesn’t remember that. The recipe is way too much sugar for our house, anyway — you were wise to share yours with the college students! I plan my baking around the fellowship dinners at church — I can take something and share it, have one piece, and if there are leftovers, send those home with my friends that have a big family! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. :look again:

    I read that as Christmas Buckleys, damnit~

    Like

Leave a Reply

