3 Comments

Eat This while You Read That: Chuck Gannon

I had the pleasure of talking with Chuck Gannon in person a couple of years ago, we have some things in common, like having four children of approximately the same age, and we both love science fiction. But he is a man of powerful intellect, which leaves me in awe when I see it kick into action. And he’s an excellent writer, which I can at least hope to learn. No kicking this old brain into higher gear if it hasn’t happened already! So when I asked him if he would be willing to contribute a recipe/dish for this series, I wasn’t sure what I would get from him.

While you’re thinking about that, why don’t you click here for a ‘buy’ button, and a big sample, of Mr. Gannon’s writing? I highly recommend you start with his first stand-alone science fiction novel, Fire with Fire. “2105, September: Intelligence Analyst Caine Riordan uncovers a conspiracy on Earth’s Moon—a history-making clandestine project—and ends up involuntarily cryocelled for his troubles. Twelve years later, Riordan awakens to a changed world. Humanity has achieved faster-than-light travel and is pioneering nearby star systems. And now, Riordan is compelled to become an inadvertent agent of conspiracy himself. Riordan’s mission: travel to a newly settled world and investigate whether a primitive local species was once sentient—enough so to have built a lost civilization.”fire with fire

And when Chuck got back to me with his recipe, I was a little surprised, and very pleased. So far we’ve had a run of authors who have a sweet tooth (like Dave Freer and Peter Grant) or love fried food (Howard Tayler and Sarah Hoyt) which was all delicious, but had us eyeing our waistlines with dismay. Chuck’s suggestion is a very nice, light segment in this series (don’t worry, there will be more sweet stuff next week when I introduce you to my favorite publisher, Toni Weisskopf).

Guilt-Free Salad Dressing ala Gannon

Spinach salad

Baby spinach, carrots, radishes, and crumbled bacon

He tells me this is a pure cheat.

  • Greek Salad Dressing *no sugar, no or little fat
  • Italian Vinaigrette *no sugar, no or little fat
  • Dijon Mustard to taste
  • Optional: Tabasco verde for added spiciness.

I went shopping, picked up two bottles of the suggested low-fat, low-sugar dressing, blended them in a one-to-one proportion in a bottle with about 2 tsp mustard, and a dollop of kalamata olive brine (because I had the bottle right there). The result was very good indeed, spicy even without the added tabasco sauce, and perfect on a light salad with olives (for me) and babay spinach (for the First Reader). A great way to kick off salad season and help slim me down for fitting into a special dress this summer.

guilt-free salad dressing

Pouring it on!

The wonderful thing about salad is that it can be endlessly variable. I don’t have tomatoes on ours only because I forgot it, but you can do anything, it’s not all just lettuce. Which means less boredom, and with this tasty dressing, much more flavor than just ‘green stuff’ on the plate! No more boring salads this summer.

Gannons dressing-3

About Cedar Sanderson

Writer, mother, reader, gardener, cook… artist.

3 comments on “Eat This while You Read That: Chuck Gannon

  1. Oooh, that’s going in the recipe file!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s so easy, and yet it reminds me that sometimes we need to step outside the box (or bottle in this case) and vary it up a little. I was really grateful for Chuck on this one.

    Speaking of low-carb and diet… should I do more of that style on my normal (at cedarwrites) food blogs?

    Like

    • If you do, I might retaliate by sharing the low-carb barbeque sauce recipe. 🙂 Seriously, I encourage you to do whatever interests you – because if it interests you, you’ll communicate that interest to us, your faithful (or in my case, haphazard) readers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

