3 Comments

I Challenge You to Read

Space_Space_planets_027475_

I challenge you to read whatever you wish, without considering the race, gender or sexual orientation of the author.

I face a conundrum in my life. There are so many great novels out there and I have only so much time to read for pleasure. See, currently I am enrolled in college, pursuing an engineering degree. Between school and my full time job, I don’t have a lot of time in my life to read for pleasure.

I have to be picky when it comes to my time that I put aside to read for pleasure and there is where my conundrum lies. I do make the time and purchase the novels that my favorite authors release, but between those releases, what do I read? There is still so much older science fiction and fantasy that I have not read, but there are also a plethora of stories written recently that I have not read either. Where should I start?

I guess I could be like this woman and limit myself to one tiny subset of authors because they meet some arbitrary checklist. I guess I could decide that I only want to read male authors of a certain age and sexual identity, or maybe only red headed female authors, there can’t be many of them can there? That would narrow my choice down greatly and not cause the conundrum that I face.

Why would I do that though? Why would I limit myself to just a type of author, basing that choice on their race, gender or sexual orientation? Why miss out on what could be an amazing story? Does their race, gender or sexual orientation somehow make them a better author? Does it somehow make the story they write better than someone who does not fit into that arbitrary little box someone created?

No!

What I will do is actually judge a book by its content and not by the author and how they look and identify themselves. I won’t be narrow minded in my choices and decide I won’t read a book because the author happens to be white, male, female, gay, black, brown, American, English, Japanese, or whatever boxes one wishes to check.

So I challenge you dear Reader to read. Read whatever you like, but don’t limit yourself because of who the author is. Read because you enjoy reading. Read to your hearts content and let those who would judge and author by their race, gender or sexual preference be lesser for the wonderful stories that they miss.

About Joseph Capdepon II

Bearded, opinionated, writer and lover of all things science fiction, horror or fantasy related. Thank you for reading.

3 comments on “I Challenge You to Read

  1. Reblogged this on The Worlds of Tarien Cole and commented:
    I will not even consider the *gasp* POLITICS of a writer before deciding if their work is worthy to be read.

    I read for story. Not message. And anything that puts message first is a failure. Unless it’s intentional allegory. And I don’t read children’s tales anymore. Frankly, the only one of those I ever liked was Screwtape.

    Like

  2. Oh come now, that’s just crazy talk. Next you’ll be saying we should not hurl insults at perfect strangers on the internet, or something. Sheesh, man. Where do you get this stuff?

    😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

